Overview and Activities


Indiscriminate and injudicious use of chemical pesticides in agriculture has resulted in several associated adverse effects such as environmental pollution, ecological imbalances, pesticides residues in food, fruits and vegetables, fodder, soil and water, pest resurgence, human and animal health hazards, destruction of bio-control agents, development of resistance in pests etc. Therefore, Govt. of India has adopted Integrated Pest Management (IPM) as cardinal principle and main plank of plant protection in the overall Crop Production Programme since 1985. IPM is an eco-friendly approach which encompasses cultural, mechanical, biological and need based chemical control measures. The IPM approach is being disseminated through various schemes/ projects at national and state level.


  • Minimize the crop losses caused by pests and diseases.
  • Encourage farmers to use various ecologically sustainable pest management approaches rather than relying only on chemical pesticides.
  • Promote use of bio-pesticides & bio-control agents in plant pest management.
  • To promote Indigenous Technology Knowledge (ITKs).
  • Conserve the diverse Agro- ecosystem for build-up of various natural enemies for plant pests.
  • Create awareness amongst farmers on
    (i) Safe and judicious use of chemical pesticides,
    (ii) To follow the label claims and instructions on dose and use as approved by CIB&RC.
  • Carryout survey and surveillance for pest and diseases with main emphasis to forewarn the farmers on the potential epidemics of plant pests.
  • Popularizing IPM in farming community by imparting training to Agriculture / Horticulture Extension Functionaries and Farmers at Grass Root Level by organizing Farmers Field Schools / 2 days / Five days HRD programmes and Season Long Training Programmes of 30 days. In these programmes, they are being trained on latest IPM technology and to adopt organic farming and bio-fertilizers as well.
  • Liaison with Pesticide industry associations, ATMAs, State Agriculture Department, KVKs, Farmers Clubs, SAUs, NGOs, etc.


  • Popularizing IPM approach among farming community.
  • Conducting regular pest surveillance & monitoring to assess pest/disease situation.
  • Rearing biological control agents for their field use and conservation of naturally occurring bio-agents.
  • Promotion of bio-pesticides and neem based pesticides as alternative to chemical pesticides.
  • To play a catalytic role in spread of innovative IPM skills to extension workers, land farmers equally to resource-poor and resource-rich states.
  • Human Resources Development (HRD) in IPM by imparting training to master trainers, extension workers and farmers through Farmers’ Field Schools (FFSs).
  • HRD programme (short duration) courses of two days and five days for pesticides dealers/NGOs/Graduates/Post-graduates/Pvt. Entrepreneurs and progressive farmers.
  • Season Long Training (SLT) programme on major agricultural/horticultural crops.

Department of Agriculture, Cooperation & Farmers Welfare (DAC&FW) in the Union Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare promotes the Integrated Pest Management (IPM) approach under the scheme “Strengthening & Modernization of Pest Management” through 36 Central Integrated Pest Management Centres (CIPMCs) located in 28 States and 2 Union Territories.

The mandate of these Centres is pest/disease monitoring, production and release of bio-control agents, conservation of bio-control agents and Human Resource Development in IPM by imparting training to Agricultural Extension Officers and farmers at the grassroots levels by organizing Farmers' Field Schools (FFSs) in the farmers’ fields.

S. No. States CIPMC
1 Andhra Pradesh Vijayawada
2 Assam Guwahati
3 Andaman & Nicobar Port Blair
4 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
5 Bihar Patna
6 Chhattisgarh Raipur
7 Goa Madgaon
8 Gujarat Vadodara
9 Haryana Faridabad
10 Himachal Pradesh Solan
11 Jammu & Kashmir Jammu
12 Srinagar
13 Jharkhand Ranchi
14 Karnataka Bangalore
15 Kerala Ernakulam
16 Madhya Pradesh Indore
17 Morena
18 Meghalaya Shillong
19 Maharashtra Nagpur
20 Nasik
21 Manipur Imphal
22 Mizoram Aizwal
23 Nagaland Dimapur
24 Orissa Bhubaneshwar
25 Punjab Jalandhar
26 Rajasthan Sriganganagar
27 Jaipur
28 Sikkim Gangtok
29 Tamil Nadu Trichy
30 Tripura Agartala
31 Telangana Hyderabad
32 Uttarakhand Dehradun
33 Uttar Pradesh Gorakhpur
34 Lucknow
35 Agra
36 West Bengal Kolkata