RPQS, Kolkata

The Regional Plant Quarantine Station, Kolkata was established in the year 1956 as Plant Quarantine & Fumigation Station under Govt. of India, Ministry of Agriculture, Directorate of Plant Protection, Quarantine & Storage, Faridabad. At that time, Plant Quarantine Regulations was implemented through the Destructive Insects & Pests (DIP) Act, 1914 (Act 2 of 1914). Through times, these governing rules evolved into the present Plant Quarantine (Regulation of Import into India) Order, 2003. This station started functioning from its present establishment at FB Block, Sector III, Salt Lake City, Kolkata–700097 from 18th November, 2000. This office has been working as the first frontier post of Indian biosecurity for the Eastern shores. The basic objective of plant quarantine regulations is to ensure healthy import of plant and plant materials and keep off all such organism which pose a threat to Indian flora, and agriculture in particular. New responsibilities like honouring the Phytosanitary commitments of the country under WTO and SPS regime, opening and coordinating the functioning of international trade points in the Eastern and North-Eastern India are ably shouldered by this office. A high point was achieved in 2016-17 when nearly 6.5 MMT of cargo was inspected and more than fifty non-compliances were issued to different exporting countries while only four NC was reported against this office. Following the “Look East Policy” of the Government, this office has grown into importance and inputs from this office are being used to shape the national policies in these fields.
Following Plant Quarantine Stations are working under the jurisdiction of this office:
  1. Plant Quarantine Station, Bongaon, West Bengal
  2. Plant Quarantine Station, Haldia, West Bengal
  3. Plant Quarantine Station, Panitanki, West Bengal
  4. Plant Quarantine Station, Bagdogra, West Bengal
  5. Plant Quarantine Station, Kalimpong, West Bengal
  6. Plant Quarantine Station, Paradip, Orissa
  7. Plant Quarantine Station, Jogbani, Bihar
  8. Plant Quarantine Station, Raxaul, Bihar
  9. Plant Quarantine Station, Guwahati, Assam
  10. Plant Quarantine Station, Agartala, Tripura
  11. Plant Quarantine Station, Moreh, Manipur
  12. Plant Quarantine Station, Port Blair, A & N Islands
  13. Plant Quarantine Station, Changrabandha, West Bengal (Newly established LFS)
  14. Plant Quarantine Station, Ghozadanga, West Bengal (Newly established LFS)
  15. Plant Quarantine Station, Mehadipur, West Bengal (Newly established LFS)
pqs pqs pqs pqs pqs
Activitity 1
S No Attachment Description Attachment achievment
Activitity 2
S No Title Details
1 Activity Photographs Download (1.08 MB) pdf
Contact Details Officer Incharge

Officer In-Charge, Regional Plant Quarantine Station, FB Block, Sector-III, Salt Lake City, Kolkata West Bengal-700097
Phone: 033- 23597679/23213168
email:- rpqfsk[at]nic[dot]in

Contact Details Stake Holder
Location Map